My experience & why I won't ever shop at Staples again!

Ah, Staples. As you may or may not know, I am an "extreme couponer" (although I am on a small break from it). I discovered Staples during the summer time when they always had the free after mail in rebate deals. Every time I'd go in, there was always a problem while being rang out. Of course I never really caught on to that whole check your receipt before you leave thing. I'd always get home and realize that my coupons were not rang in properly or at all. If have to call the store, drive back down and re-ring my transaction, etc. I got to a point where I decided that is was no longer worth my aggravation to get free things from Staples. A couple months later I get my weekly Staples email with a coupon "$10 off any $10 Swiffer purchase (no restrictions of one coupon per person/household or transaction!)"...ok, this was a deal I was not missing out on. I printed 10 copies and went online to plan my purchase, made a list of things I wanted and drove down to the store. When I got there, I decided I only needed $55 or so of things and was going to use 5 coupons and $5 of my Staples rewards. When I get to the register the cashier rings in the coupon and looks puzzled. She calls a manager over and tells him that the coupon says $10 off but is ringing in as $3 off. He tells me in front of other people in line that I was trying to use a fraudulent coupon. I advised him that Staples directly emailed me and pointed out the coupon was printed directly from Staples.com (as it printed on the bottom). He said, "oh well, there is a fraudulent coupon going around"...he wouldn't let me use them for my transaction, I left the carriage and walked out. I went right to my car and called corporate. I was greeted by a miserable employee who told me that Staples made a "typo" and it was supposed to be sent out saying $3 off...I told her that I drove the store specifically to use a $10 off coupon and wouldn't have bothered for $3...I told her I was embarrassed by the store manager and I told her I felt they should honor their mistake. She told me that Staples policy was that they did not have to honor typos and I was out of luck. I went home and typed an email and sent it to corporate. I didn't hear back. From the multiple coupon errors I had received from them in the last I figured out that they do this on purpose to get people into their store. I reported them to the BBB and finally got a response, a very generic and insincere apology.




Leave a Reply.