Yet another place to add to my "never again list". I usually go grocery shopping on Sunday nights for the week. Last weekend was crazy running around and I barely got any quality time with my daughter. I decided to order from Peapod to save time. Sure there was a $10 delivery charge, $1 fuel surcharge and we tipped the driver $5...but if it meant getting an extra hour or more with my daughter...the extra money was worth it...or so I thought...

I chose the delivery day of Wednesday, even though we were in desperate need of food...because it was their "value day" which saved $5 on delivery charge. I was already inconvenienced on the delivery date but that was my own decision to try to save some money.

On Wednesday, the delivery driver brings us our order while I'm feeding my daughter dinner. My husband puts all the groceries on the kitchen floor to be put away and signs the invoice. The driver told him that they were "out of stock" of chicken so I wasn't charged for it. Okay well now this whole Peapod thing just defeated the whole point of paying extra for delivery for the "convenience" since I will now be going to the market for the chicken. If someone has called and told me they couldn't bring the chicken, I would have cancelled the order.

I don't mind food shopping...I actually enjoy it...but the point was to not have to go to the market in the first place, had I known, I would have done my whole trip. I wasn't happy. Especially because my order was very inexpensive ($63), the trip would have been fairly quick.

I go to unload the groceries and notice they are all soaked in water and covered in what looked like dirt. I'm assuming our order was crushed at the bottom of the refrigerated truck. Absolutely disgusted. As I put everything away, my husband and I talked about "never again", "what a waste of money", "lesson learned", etc.

I then grabbed the invoice to make sure the chicken wasn't charged...and it wasn't. So my $63 order should have been $55 or so...wrong. The invoice total said "$82.45". Huh?? I printed my original receipt and compared the 2 side by side. I had ordered (2) 1/2 lb. filet mignon steaks at 18.99/lb...I was already hesitant in ordering them being so expensive but I figured a steak for each of us totaling $19 wasn't too bad. Well, they delivered (2) steaks that were OVER 1lb each. I understand you can't always get it to be 1/2 lb exact...but that was over double the amount. My $19 steaks just turned into $39 steaks. (Btw, they turned brown a day before their sell by date)

I called Peapod and waited 10 minutes on hold and decided I would just email instead. I went online to find that their email won't allow more than 500 characters which wouldn't allow enough room, so I picked up the phone and called again. This time I was on hold for 15 minutes, and hung up. I emailed them saying my order was wrong, I am not paying the additional money as I was staying within a budget, and to please have someone call me as I cannot get through.

It's been 3 days and I haven't received a phone call or response to my email, but that money was taken out of my account. Unfortunately I made the mistake of paying with a debit card, so I can't even call my credit card company to dispute it.

I attempted to call again today and the recording stated they were closed.

There appears to be no solution in sight, so I will just never order from them again, lesson learned.




Leave a Reply.