Maybe it's because I work at a place that is so huge on exceptional customer service that makes me so bitter when I experience anything less, but it is what it is...so here's yet another rant.

We have been completely bombarded by snow here to the point where I've done everything in my power to avoid supermarkets. Seeing as how Peapod didn't work out so well last time, I will not ever use it again. My plan was to go Friday night after work, however, due to unforeseen circumstances (like my husband not waking me up before he left for work, inevitably making me late for work and this having to work until 8pm...😡) I was unable to go Friday.

Saturday morning my husband tells me that we are completely out of the baby's milk...okay...time to suck it up and go on the busiest grocery shopping day of the week. I got ready, opened the door and...oh it's snowing! Again! Great...so now the market will be even more packed with everyone rushing to buy what may be their last groceries ever. Whatever right? The baby needs milk so it has to be done.

I walk into the grocery store and take literally the last shopping cart available. If you haven't been able to tell...I really don't have much patience. Thank goodness my mother-in-law took the wheel of the shopping cart because I would have died trying to make my way through. I felt claustrophobic just being in that store with all those people. I picked up that self scanner thing to avoid having to spend a lot of time at check out. However long it took me to shop, probably an hour or more later, I proceed to check out...all groceries bagged, all items rung up...just get me out of here.

The first register we waited at, the woman turned around and said "there's a problem with this register"...mmm...onto the next register...and we waited...finally it was our turn! I noticed in the next aisle someone I knew and said hi...meanwhile, my cashier tells me that there I'm the lucky person to be "audited". If you're unaware of what this is, it means the scanner thing picks you at random to make sure you scanned your items. The cashier then picks 5 or 7 things in your bags at random and scans them to ensure they have been scanned. Except, she can't audit me herself because a manager needs to bring their key over. We literally waited a good 20 minutes...there was no manager around and all the employees were running around with chickens with their heads cut off because of how insanely busy it was.

I noticed the person I knew in the next aisle having some sort of trouble too. Eventually a manager came over, they audited the cart and then couldn't get my order to load. They then tell me they are going to have to open up a new register for me because my order was LOST and now they had to unbag everything, rescan everything and rebag. All $150 of my groceries.

Needless to say, I was not happy. However, I didn't throw a fit. I figured things happened and it's a grocery store, it's not a restaurant where they can comp the meal for the inconvenience. I'm not going to get anything out of it besides looking like a douche. Ok...I keep my mouth shut and leave. Now the snow had accumulated quite a bit due to wasted time.

Fast forward to today...I end up seeing the person that I spotted in the next aisle's wife at work. I told her I saw her hubby at Stop & Shop and she tells me his story first...the credit card machine stopped working at his register so the manager told him to just take his stuff and go and not worry about paying for it. What?!? Seriously!! Now...good for him! But really? I was completely inconvenienced a lot more than that and got squat. I didn't even get a percentage off my order!

Well there it is...end rant!




Leave a Reply.