Recently I redeemed "sales points" that I accumulated at work for gift cards to multiple venues from giftcertificates.com. They didn't have many options for nearby stores or restaurants, but my 2 biggest interests they offered was Sephora & Macy's.

Now, normally I choose to do my shopping at Nordstrom, however this wasn't an option. I figured it's basically the same...minus the great customer service.

First I ordered a Michael Kors purse online in black. When it arrived in the mail I was so excited. I opened it and found that it looked different than online. The "MK" design looked more gray online and it person it was so dark it basically blended in with the black. As a mom of a 13 month old that works 50+ hours a week, anytime I get with my daughter is precious, so I choose not to go out on dates with my husband, nights out with friends, etc. very often. Needless to say, I wasn't thrilled about having to troop it to the mall (due to the fact that returns via mail are not free and shipping that big would probably be pretty expensive) & take time away from my peanut.

I went to the mall to exchange it and they did not carry the same one in brown. The associate said she could exchange it with free shipping. I confirmed with her that the brown one would look similar to another bag I showed her and she confirmed. When I got it in the mail, it was not like the one I saw in the store. Once again the lighter brown "MK" basically blended in with the dark brown. I dealt with it, I still liked it better than the black one.

A few days later I ordered a new Guess wallet and a Betsey Johnson makeup bag (which I LOVE btw!)...when it comes in the mail, the price tag on both say they are on sale for 25% off...the wallet was $12 less than what I paid for it and the makeup bag was $10 less than what I paid. I picked up the phone and called customer service to ask for a refund of the sale price (honestly, this should have been applied without me having to call)...I get an automated system that recognized my phone number and starts rambling on about previous purchases, tracking numbers, delivery dates etc. No option to speak with a representative! I pressed "0" and was told incorrect entry. I ended up having to email them about the price difference and how their phone system is frustrating how you can't speak to a rep. They refunded the difference onto a random gift card...I have to check in because it's not my gift card number so I don't know how to utilize it...they did not comment on their phone set up however.

I don't know why they ship everything seperately, but a few days later I receive the Coach watch that I ordered. This time they scratched out the original price and the sale price...assumingly so that they wouldn't have to issue me a refund on whatever sale amount showed on the tag. Either way I got it for a good price.

Lastly, my new shower head comes in the mail from them. This is the straw that broke the camel's back...you could tell that the product had been returned. The hard plastic casing was cut open on both corners at the bottom and ripped open!! I couldn't believe that they'd ship me a product that someone else opened! I emailed them and told them I wanted it exchanged for the same one but unopened. I am not taking my shower apart to find out the product doesn't work or is missing pieces, it was obviously returned for a reason. Their invoice has a return label and it says that if you use it they will charge $7 for the return to use the label. I told them they better not charge me $7 for their careless mistake!!

I think I'm done ordering online from Macy's!

**UPDATE: Macy's handled everything pretty quickly and efficiently for me...i have still had better experiences elsewhere without having to ever complain but at least they made all right in the end.




Leave a Reply.