I've found coming up with meal ideas for my one year old (Aubrey) hasn't been the easiest. When I ask my friends with kids, I always got the answer "feed them whatever you're having". Herein lies the problem...my husband eats candy for dinner and the occassional Mac n' Cheese...I usually don't eat dinner at all because I eat like a pig at lunch time, which I take later in the work day, so I don't find myself getting hungry until 10/11 at night...at which point I am not about to cook myself anything and find myself pulling my teenage whinyness of "there's nothing to eat in this house" while the cabinets and refrodgerator are jam packed with food that I just don't want.

I tried doing the good wife/mother routine briefly, but I have to be honest...I was up at 7am after a night of multiple interruptions, because yes, my daughter still does not sleep through the night. I get ready for work while trying to entertain my daughter at the same time and get her ready. I drive 20 minutes in the opposite direction of work to drop her off to my husband's aunt who watches her for us. I always try to get there 30 minutes early so I feel like I get some quality time with Aubrey instead of dropping her off and running. I then drive to work to be there for 9. My work day ends at 5:45...and most days I get stuck until 6/6:15. Drive another 20 minutes home. Cooking is the last thing I want to do. Anything that doesn't involve me cuddling with that baby is the last thing I want to do.

I've spent a lot of time researching the best and healthiest foods for peanut, yet she never really eats them since we don't prepare them for her. Thankfully, hubby's aunt prepares many healthy, real meals for her during the day. But nights and weekends we find ourselves feeding her baby food from jars. Tonight I came home to my husband's shopping trip of microwave baby dinners. I put my foot down...enough is enough...she can't eat baby food forever and we need to give her what she needs to strive. After much research...hours and hours of research...here's ideas that I found, an example meal schedule, and how to prepare different options. I am just the worst when it comes to cooking, I never learned how...my mom didn't really know how either, although my dad was decent. When it came to puréeing, I didn't know how or where to start...so if you're like me, hopefully this can help with you and your baby as well!

Grains:

-Wheat toast

-Pancakes

-Waffles

-Jam Sandwich

-Bagel

-Grilled cheese (add thin sliced tomato)

-Cheerios

-Graham Crackers

-No Salt Saltines (add humus)

-Mac n cheese

-Wheat Pasta

-Animal Crackers

-Goldfish

Protein:

-Scrambled eggs (add cheese)

-Hard boiled egg cut up into pieces

-Chicken

-Meatballs

-Turkey

-Ham

-Deli Chicken

-Tuna

Dairy:

-Cheese cubes

-Diced string cheese

-Yogurt (add fresh fruit)

-Sugar free Pudding

-Cottage cheese

Fruits:

-Banana

-Avocado

-Peaches in can

-Pears in can

-steamed apples

-Grapes cut into 1/4s

-Watermelon

-Applesauce

-Oranges

-Cantalope

-Tomatoes

-Kiwi

-Blueberries

-Mangos

Veggies:

-Steamed carrots

-Peas

-Steamed beets

-Green beans

-Corn

-Sweet potatoe (steamed & diced)

-Mashed potatoes

-Olives (cut into 1/4s)

-Broccoli

How to Simmer:

-Place chopped fruit into saucepan or small bowl

-Add just enough water to cover the bottom (juicier fruits do not need water)

-Cover & cook on low until soft

-Less than 5 minutes

-Keep juice to thin purée if needed

How to Roast:

-Preheat oven to 450

-Spread chopped veggies on a rimmed baking sheet lined with foil

-Roast until very tender when pierced with a fork

-About 20 minutes

How to Steam:

-Place veggies in a steamer set over boiling water

-Cook 10-15 minutes or until tender

-Keep water to thin if needed

**A great idea I read was to put the puréed into ice cube trays, once frozen, move them into freezer bags & label. To thaw, store in refridgerater over night or microwave for 30 seconds. Genius! Fast and efficient!

And finally, sample meal plan:

Breakfast:

1/2 cup iron fortified cereal or 1 cooked egg

1/2 cup organic whole milk

1/2 banana

2-3 sliced strawberries

Snack:

Slice of wheat toast or yogurt

1/2 cup milk

Lunch:

1/2 sandwich - turkey, chicken, tuna or egg salad

1/2 cup cooked greens

1/2 cup milk

Snack:

1-2 oz. cubed or string cheese or 2-3 tablespoons of berries

1 cup milk

Dinner:

2-3oz. cooked meat

1/2 cup cooked yellow or orange veggies

1/2 cup pasta, rice or potatoe

1/2 cup milk

**Everything I use is organic, wheat, whole grain, all natural, no sugar added, no salt, reduced sodium etc.

All ideas were found through different websites online or on Pinterest.




Leave a Reply.